Smokey

By Smokey

Mono Monday Favourite Memory

I have a few elephants that I've collected from various parts of the world as elephants feature amongst my favourite creatures. This particular one, along with its partner, came from a gorgeous collectables place I discovered in Singapore. The two together were incredibly heavy and it was fortunate the airline didn't check the weight of my carry on bag on that homeward trip. 

But my most poignant memory of these beautiful creatures (who themselves have great memories) is of a visit to the Elephant Conservation Centre at Lampang in Thailand. There were elephants who were being treated for their amphetamine addictions after being given the drugs to keep them working for long hours and also an elephant who was awaiting a prosthetic foot after losing its own by stepping on a landmine. It saddens me hugely that these noble beings are treated with such cruelty by some of our humankind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.