Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

SNAPSHOTS OF CHILDHOOD

A few months ago my big sister sent me a brown Manila envelope containing my childhood, here's a selection of reports, certificates and the only photo I have of all of my Mums offspring together, looks like it was taken in Gibraltar around 1966, Mum passed away the day after my thirteenth birthday, we were living in Cyprus then and it still saddens me that I never got to say goodbye, she had returned to England just before Christmas 1971, my father went with her and the four of us (not the eldest in the photo, she was my half sister, Dagmar, wish I could trace her now, she's German and I wouldn't know where to start) spent the festive season alone, we weren't told about her passing until my father flew back out, she had been cremated, Dagmar was at the funeral but all I had left were memory's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.