CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My plum chutney ingredients

Having gathered all the ingredients for making chutney I started production this afternoon. I haven't made chutney for decades, but having been given a huge bag full of plums by John and Liz, and one of her recommended recipes, I'm really pleased to be making it.

I have enough to make another batch of the same chutney, but thought it would be best to try it out first. I'm also not sure how many pots we'll need so I may have to go searching for more receptacles.

I was just adding the ingredients to the simmering vinegar and sugar mixture  when It occurred to me to record the moment and blip it. I went to get my small camera and quickly snapped a couple of shots. I may have a picture of the finished jars another day. It will take at least three months for the chutney to mature, but I have a feeling that I'm going to do more preserving of local produce now I've got started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.