Memories

Memories of horses

I remember - watching any children's programme with horses in it, including Champion the Wonder Horse, Black Beauty, Follyfoot and White Horses.

I remember - reading ;lots of books about horses including 'The Silver Brumby series, which I still have in the garage somewhere with my Famous Five books.

I remember sitting at my Nannies window and watching and listening to the horses trotting by. Hoping to find a lucky horse she when we went out for a walk.

I remember charging round the playground with a rope round my waste with the ends held by a friend , pretending to be a horse.

I remember walking to the Army Barracks in Gillingham where I would look at the horses through a white fence that towered above me.

I remember being spooked by a white horse named David in a field near where I lived thinking it was a Mummy after watching a scary episode of Dr Who.

I remember being nibbled on the back by a horse on The Lines , I think it was after my apple.

I remember being kicked by a New Forest Pony when I was pregnant with David ending up witha horse shoe shaped bruise for weeks.

I remember looking after my friends horse Frith , cycling to her horse first thing in the morning to let Frith out into the orchard , fed him and muck out.

I remember my friend lettng me ride Frith and one day he decided to jump a huge jump, I think I managed to stay on.

I remember having riding lessons on  a horse named Rob, he had a mind of his own and when he wanted a drink there was no stopping him, no matter what I did.

Now I have the pleasure of watching the horses in the field next to the house , all sizes, colours and temperaments.
Maybe I have a genetic love of horses as alot of my ancestors were Blacksmiths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.