Memories in mono

Today's mono Monday challenge on the theme of "favourite" is memories. I thought if appropriate to blip this 1972 black and white photo which sits above my computer as it holds many memories for me.

This is a press photo taken of my mother and her younger sister when they were employed as court ushers for the newly created National Industrial Relations Court. They were on secondment from the Royal Courts of Justice and the photo is taken just outside this building.

The NIRC was created on December 1971 by the Conservative government of Ted Heath as a way to limit the power of trades union in the UK. It's jurisdiction extended throughout the whole of the UK. and was presided over by Lord John Donaldson. The NIRC was abolished by the Trade Union and Labour Relations Act 1974 by the then Labour Government under Harold Wilson.

My mother and aunt returned to the Royal Courts of Justice to continue their roles in other courts.

Sadly my mother died in 1977 aged 56 years so I have a whole mix of memories looking at this photo. My aunt died in December 2012 and I "inherited " her boxes of old photos. The one I have today blipped is a very special one and definitely my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.