Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Saturday 16th September 2017

A typical Saturday in that not much happened when I arrived back in Tiptree. Therefore a bit of an Emergency Blip scenario....

This figurine has been around since about 1964, when it was given as a gift to Mum and Dad by Auntie Chris, Mum's eldest sister. I was around four or five years old at the time. After their Mum - my Nanna - died, Auntie Chris took Grandad on a break to Jaywick Sands near Clacton-on-Sea. In those days it was a sleepy little seaside village stuck in a charming 1930's timewarp, rather than the shabby and neglected area it is today. There used to be a small parade of shops on the main road, with a jewellers on the corner which also sold china goods. Auntie Chris was an artist, so I suppose she was attracted by the figure, brush in hand, painting a portrait of a fierce-looking white-faced Japanese person. It has 'Foreign' stamped on the bottom, so I doubt it's worth anything, but I was always fascinated by it so it has value to me as an artifact from my childhood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.