Baronial Hall

Just back from a hectic few days in Cheshire staying with my brother. The main reason was to see his production of Ladies in Lavender, a play showing a the Garrick Theatre in Altrincham which he had directed and designed. It was excellent - the set  was astonishing, 4  tableaux in one, all interconnecting with doors and stairs.  The acting was first class as was the lighting and music. Not a dry eye in the house by the end. Well done that man.

We also managed to fit in a walk around Dunham Massey, a trip to Tatton Hall, some serious  lounging around in a swimming pool complete with being pummelled by water jets, a trip to Altrincham market and a viewing of Victoria and Abdul at the cinema! 

My brother has a flat in a  wonderfully eccentric former mill owner's house with an entrance hall complete with stained glass and suit of armour! He even has the turret which has a little garden on top with amazing views out towards Manchester.  Lovely to have a catch up.

No sooner had I arrived back on the tarmac in Cork than son#1 landed right behind me! Immaculate timing. he's here for the week and is already amazed by the fox and busy filming!

By the way, thanks to Wharfdalebex who managed to locate my original pic of the BVM  in the postbox!!  I thought I'd taken it last year - turns out it was 2013.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.