creative lenna

By creativelenna

Thirsty?

We had a few very delightful friends over yesterday afternoon for a post-hurricane recovery party! Gosh that was fun. I think we all really needed to get together and laugh, eat, drink . . . Steve got the bench seat, which is a cooler, out of the boat and brought it inside for me. Then he took some of the blocks of ice he made for hurricane survival (which we did not have to use) and chopped up some big pieces for the cooler. We added 3 kinds of beer (can you guess which ones? One will be difficult I think!) bottled water, seltzer, rose & white wine (the white is gone here, oops!) and sparkling juice. 

My friend Kathy Oravec made some awesome Tomato Crostini for all of us, right there in my kitchen! She is a great chef and good friend. All I did for that was pick some chives from the garden. Then she said I helped make them! :o) I did make 'zucchini bites' after enjoying them & learning how to from our Canadian friend, Fran who is coming to visit next week. Raw zucchini slices, topped with hummus, topped with a little basil pesto and topped with a teeny bit of tomato, yum! We had carrots & celery sticks & potato chips with a ranch dip, fresh red seedless grapes, havarti cheese & crackers and I made a small banana bread for dessert. Deb brought delicious dark chocolate and even left some extra behind! Thank you all for bring your great spirits, even after a storm & your friendship.

But the best part was seeing a number of good friends, some I had not seen for a while. We all needed a break! Some friends we invited could not make it so soon after the Hurricane and we did miss them. Another time for sure. 

My mom got her power back today!!! Yes, she has a generator but her AC was not running and that was kind of hot for her & the dogs. She opened a few windows when it was cool (70F) in the morning and she is a trooper. All is well now, I will see her on Wednesday. The only thing that is not good is that there is another Hurricane out there, Maria. But my trusted local meteorologist Denis Phillips said today, "The track continues to move AWAY from the US mainland. Unless something radical happens, Maria is not our storm and probably stays away from the US East coast." 
I want that to be true! Wish with me xoxoxox

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.