Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Chinese Paper Wasp...

... according to my insect book. I found this one on the rosemary bush.

What fascinated me was the extremely small 'waist' of the wasp. Relative to the insects size, the waist is far too narrow and looks like it would break in two very easily.

I chose this view as it demonstrates how the two body sections are linked by this tiny passage. I presume the digestive system as well as a major blood vessel or two must pass through it from the thorax to the abdomen.

In the extras is a view from above showing the pattern of yellow stripes that identify it as a Chinese paper wasp. 

In the insect book, all of the wasps has added at the end of their description "has a sting" . With the Chinese Paper Wasp the description ends with "has a painful sting" . One to avoid I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.