Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Still enjoying the sunshine

A lovely sunrise (see extras) this morning, and a glorious sunny day.  Lots of butterflies and dragonflies out enjoying the sunshine (except maybe the female common hawker dragonfly - see this link: Surprising Dragonfly Facts).

My main blip is of some of the butterflies (clockwise from top left) small copper, comma, speckled wood (who has clearly been in the wars) and a brown argus.  The small copper and brown argus are very small - each wing is about the size of a thumbnail.

While I was taking a weather watchers picture the male common darter landed on my arm, took off, hovered and then landed on my shoulder!  It was quite hard to get a decent shot.

My other extra is off a pair of common hawkers making more hawkers and another male who was chasing a third rival away from his territory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.