Autumn: 'tis the season ....for migrant moths

To cheer myself up I have decided to do a mini series titled 'Autumn: 'tis the season'. I am not planning to indulge myself every day, but I will be looking for Autumnal signs when I can.....you have been warned!
Last night I was just getting ready for bed, the moth trap blazing away when...the heavens opened and it just poured and poured!!! My trap was OK as I have a pyrex bowl over the bulb so the rain can't splash on it, but every time it really rains the egg boxes get soggy, and despite there being a drain in the bottom of the trap, the moths are liable to get drowned.
So with all this in mind, the best bet was to drag the trap in and get soaked in the process! I released the 4 Large yellow underwings, and was just drying the trap off when I noticed this beauty sitting under the cone.
This beautiful migrant moth is The Jasmine moth  Palpita vitrealis an immigrant appearing in the autumn in the UK, most often in the south and south west. It can be found worldwide, and this is the second time I have had one in my garden trap

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.