Baobab tree.....

Whilst "jobbing" this morning, I listened to a very interesting programme on Radio 4 called Natural Histories...about the baobab tree. 

It was described as a source of water, food, medicine and materials and in recent years its edible fruits have increased the tree's commercial value.

All very interesting but much better that it features in The Little Prince story by Antoine de Saint-Exupery and is perhaps not such a treasured tree in this story. A book to read!

This is my little baobab tree...

Just another fact I thought interesting...all the flowers of this tree open at night and all at the same time. Hence it is sometimes known as the upside -down tree

This afternoon I called in at school to deliver some resources to my friends for current topics. A real boost to be welcomed with big hugs by pupils and teachers alike! After some good chatting I left...and they will be there again tomorrow......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.