Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

You couldn't make it up!

Off down to My Club to meet up with a pal and discuss the week. When we came out there was a crowd of folk doing tai chi. Or some such. I got up on my wall, but this chap came and stood in front of me. I thought he rather added something to the photo. A baldy heid and wispy hair to be exact, and so I didn't bother moving away. Wonder if he's thinking of taking it up ...

Then into town to buy swimming goggles. The outdoor type shops don't sell them. Shopping not being my ideal Saturday activity, I quickly abandoned the search, and we went for lunch instead. Our favourite wee restaurant in Thistle Street. A great table in the corner, and the speaker above us wasn't working or was turned off. Bonus!

Played a game of 'Find the Bus Stop' for a while in order to come home. (Because of all the tramworks and road closures, they keep changing the bus routes in town). It might be fun one time, but now it's getting tedious.

Yesterday afternoon, after my fraught morning on the telephone with the Pensions Service, I located the letter from them dated 24th April, saying:

'Thank you for returning the form CF-N-1282 with details of your time in New Zealand...

I can tell you that based on your UK National Insurance record and your time in New Zealand you will be entitled to a basic State Pension at the full rate.'


Why then am I being asked to fill in the form CF-N-1282 again? I rang again to ask, now that I had my proof.

Me: 'Where is the form that I filled in in April?'

Them: 'It's been P A -ed.'

Me: 'P A-ed?'

Them: 'Put Away. Filed in the vaults.'

Me: 'It's been seen and verified by a Mrs Wilson. I have a letter confirming this.'

Them: 'Different department. She's the Voluntary Contributions Department. I'm the Awards Department. I need something for MY files.'

You couldn't make it up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.