201

I had forest walk with Sami in Linnakallio area. I wasn't looking for mushrooms, but when I stumbled upon yellow chanterelles and funnel chanterelles, I just couldn't leave them there. (Emma thinks she has eaten too many mushroom dishes lately :-D )
When we were back at the car and I was changing my rubber boots, I heard noise from the sky. I saw amazing group of Eurasian Cranes migrating south. There were 201 cranes in these v-shaped groups in total, I counted them from pictures I took. It was great moment and I felt lucky that they passed right over me and I was outdoors in open are at the moment. 

The species is a long distance migrant. The majority of the Finnish cranes as well as many breeding cranes of middle- and eastern Estonia use the Baltic-Hungarian flyway. This route is directed southwards to begin with and leads to stopover sites in eastern Hungary and northern Serbia. In favourable weather conditions a noteworthy part of the cranes overwinters in this region while numerous birds migrate even further to northern Africa via Italy. Many birds overwinter in Tunisia, even though the North African winter area reaches form Libya to Morocco. An increasing part of the birds that rest in Hungary migrates to the west via northern Italy to wintering grounds in southern France (Camargue). At the same time more and more colour-marked cranes from Finland and Estonia have been identified in Germany which shows a present large-scale displacement of birds of the Baltic - Hungarian flyway, when seen in connection with a significant rise of the autumn resting population in Germany.




+7°C, cloudy. North wind - ideal condition for migrating cranes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.