Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Wild boar hunt

It has been a hunting weekend. Last night was spent in Mantet, one of the more remote villages in the Pyrenees, eating with friends. The conversation turned to the guns on the wall and the host's passion for hunting isard, the mountain goat/antelope that is native to these mountains and is similar to the Alpine chamois. Today I was invited on the local chasse au sanglier with W. I had the brief to check it out on behalf of my friend who wants to visit and join the hunt. I was made most welcome on this mission and felt the privilege of being invited into this close society. The sanglier has to be controlled in many areas of France, otherwise it can cause considerable damage. This is particularly true in some of the vineyards. It was a 6.20 start and a 4 x 4 ride and walk up Canigou. I spent three hours at my poste in the rain with nothing happening. W and his companion shot one of the two boar killed. They then had to bring the 30 kilo animal an hour down the mountain. There then followed a great barbecued meal and much bonhomie in the clubhouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.