Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Red Squirrel

Dundee is the only city in Britain to have an urban population of Red Squirrels.  As a child we only ever saw Reds in the garden. Homework vs squirrels, it was an easy choice and I'd procrastinate for hours watching them move amongst the trees.

in the 80's the American Greys had taken hold and regularly they could be seen sharing treats on the bird table with the natives. We knew nothing of Squirrel Pox, that the Greys are immune carriers or the devastating effect it would have on the population of our Red friends. Sadly, it wasn't long before the Red were no longer seen scampering around.

Just recently they have returned and it put a real smile on my face to see them in the beech tree at the bottom of the garden on this visit back to what is now my sister's. I knew there was a sanctuary in Dundee and rang them to see if I could go up to take some photos.  

The sanctuary is effectively a woodland back garden where the owner feeds and protects the squirrels. He was wary and told us he didn't like to let many people in for fear of infection and to ensure the shy squirrels could live in peace in his little haven, but did agree to let us have a quick visit.  I took a few shots but the light that morning was far from good and I would have preferred to have a better lens with me.
The owner scattered around the base of a number of trees Within minutes I could see flashes of movement from the corner of my eyes.There were squirrels everywhere! What a wonderful sight.   

We left a donation and later in the day returned with a large sack of excess bird food which my sister had stored in the garage.  The work that is done is truly amazing and we will continue to support them and I have an invite to go back when I'm next up in Scotland.

Back Blipping my gap year

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.