Platforms 1 - 4

When you're first starting out in business, should you make so bold, then you will sometimes read articles with people who have established companies handing down wisdom, which is, to you, entirely impractical. I remember reading an article with one such guru stating that you should never work with clients whom you don't like. 

Now, that is corking advice as far as it goes: work life is far more enjoyable, not to mention easy, if you like your clients. But when you're starting out and every contract you land is one new, cherished addition to your armoury as you battle against the bank and sleepless nights, then, frankly, such wisdom is simply irritating. Very irritating.

We've been up and running since the summer of 2004, so we have, happily, reached that stage where we do like and have enjoyable working relationships with almost all of our clients. There is one that I'm not mad about, though, and without going into detail, let's just say they can be flakey (and that really isn't the bloody half of it). 

It was this client that cancelled the meeting I came down for last week, which they rescheduled for tomorrow morning. I wasn't sure they'd go ahead, so I left buying train tickets and booking a hotel until the last minute and just made a tentative arrangement to see my brother, Wol, this evening. 

In the end, there was no cancellation, so I came down to Euston, checked into my hotel, and jumped on a tube down Waterloo to meet Wol as he finished work. We had a couple of beers and a bite to eat on the mezzanine overlooking the concourse, right at the point where I seem to have spent a large part of my life waiting for a train to Malden Manor or Worcester Park. 

Tonight, though, once we'd gone our separate ways, there was just a pleasant walk for me up Southampton Row, ending up in the Exmouth Arms for a glass of wine and a bit of writing. 

****
-11.9 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.