Inchcolm Island on the Forth

The Wednesday Girls took the coach to Edinburgh and then the train to Dalmeny to catch the ferry to Inchcolm.  Janice and I had chosen to go into Glasgow by bus, and managed to miss the coach to Edinburgh.  But there was one a few minutes later so no problem.

But there WAS a problem as it didn't arrive in time for us to catch the train to Dalmeny...... what luck we had.  Luckily there was another in ten minutes or so.  We got slightly lost on the way down to the ferry; I knew where it was but we were directed down a different path.  Luckily I realised we were going too far along to the village, and we turned and found our way.  Such a fuss!   

But we made it, and had a great sail on the ferry out to Inchcolm Island, where we all wandered at will for almost two hours.  I first of all had my lunch and then visited the ruined abbey.   Then I went down on to the shore and found some sea glass, before going up to go through the tunnel left after WW2.  It was a bit creepy in the middle, and I was pleased to have share of a torch from a young couple also going through.

The sail back was also nice, and we were taken under the three bridges to get a good view of the Queensferry Crossing for the first time.  The three bridges, each of a different century, look terrific, although a little sun would have helped my pictures.  

I was a great day out, and as usual thanks to the 2M's for their wonderful organisation .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.