Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Must

I showed you the crates of grapes we harvested last Thursday and then on Friday we stripped the large single vine down at the cottage and added its fruit to the barrel. The barrel was then half full, so 80 litres including stems. Today Spousie pressed the barrel's contents and transferred the resulting must into this 54 litre demi-john. We have a butter dish of left over must that will not fit so we shall add that to the barrel after tomorrow's picking.

I expect that it is because of having small amounts of excess must that will not fit into the fermentation vessel that the recipe for moustalevria was first devised. The wiki article suggests that the must should be cleaned with clay but my Greek recipe book tells me that wood ash should be used. This recipe agrees with my book though my recipe is much simpler and does not include any sugar. I shall not be making any unless we find ourselves with some spare juice a week from now.

And now the magical process of fermentation begins gradually transforming this cloudy juice into clear wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.