A Damp Day in the Parish

Things got off to a very damp start today.  The Current Mrs Creel had just sweetly said goodbye: ‘Make some progress with your list’ and had left.  I was just popping my last bit of toast in when I realised I was sitting in a lagoon.  The bloody (for there is no other word for it) washing machine had leaked all over the kitchen floor; furniture floating by etc.  Oh how I laughed.  Mop and buckets later and I was busy trying to diagnose the fault.

Then remembering I had to meet Poppy in the Orphir Kirk Cafe (I know it’s all go).  I walked up to the Kirk in more damp conditions where the local cumulonimbus were on a rinse cycle.  Poppy was somewhat delayed because the local road from Kirkwall was blocked.  So I had to make small talk - i.e. take a few words from a sack and hone, polish and spray them.  On arrival at the Kirk Poppy indicated she had something for me from Stuart.  In fact she said ‘I’ve got a model in the car’.  I immediately thought back to Mary Quantum leap forward, Lesley Hornby and Airfix.  Airfix was nearer the mark as Stuart has sent me a fully working model of Sooth End in Stromness.  There was that much bubble wrap that I thought Stuart had forwarded his wife - as he has so often threatened.

The model now means I am in a moral dilemma for truly I should visit Crispin (the incumbent of Sooth End) and pass it on to him.

On Poppy’s departure the phone went and it was an update from North Ronaldsay during which the fishman arrived.  The post woman came at the same time and bought some fish. 

Envoi:  It’s still peeing doon and I have to get the claes dry.  And make tea!!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.