Another jay in the garden

I took a break from writing a report this afternoon with a cup of tea and a slice of toast with peanut butter and honey. I took it back to my study and stood at the window with my camera at the ready. I've seen several jays going backwards and forwards for the last few days, carrying acorns up the slope and then returning empty mouthed.

I've realised that they often like to take a short flight or hop from tree to tree even when they have a task in hand such as carrying the acorns.  I wondered whether it is because they need to catch a breath or that it is that they are so secretive, as is reported.

I checked online and on the BTO website, there were reports that jays have been observed storing up to 2000 acorns each in varying places for the winter feed. Apparently they can carry four or five acorns at one time storing them up in their mouths! I can vouch for the fact that they certainly are carrying loads every day at the moment. I have seen at least four jays in the vicinity of this small valley, and the woodlands on its hillsides.  

This picture was taken when I spotted a pair of jays at the top of the sycamore tree at the bottom of the garden, next to the big ash tree I featured recently. As soon as i had raised my camera it headed off so I was delighted to find a reasonably sharp image this time, but without an acorn as it was on its return journey down the valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.