hopesprings

By hopesprings

Working horses in Vienna

I am something of a horse fanatic, having a couple myself at home, so the working horses in Vienna caught my eye. There are few places in the Western world where horses are still used as transport, but here they are a tourist attraction, taking visitors on tours through the city centre. My views on the use of these horses are mixed - whilst it's undoubtedly nice to see these horses in the centre of the city, they are often in poor condition, badly shod and don't seem to get much rest during very long working days. Maybe as an equine lover, I'm somewhat removed from the economic realities of their drivers/owners, but the state of some of the horses does sit a bit uncomfortably with me. However, they are beautiful animals nonetheless and this pair particularly caught my eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.