Click... click... BOOM!

By NoriMG

Hobby

My hobby? Morris dancing. Often, photographing it. 

I've taken many photos of various morris teams in the last few years, but when this challenge got announced I was lucky enough that we were about to go dance out and I could get a fresh shot of my own team. I love the slight swagger Linda has in her hips her, letting loose into the dance and enjoying it.

Morris has become a huge part of my life. It has, in many ways, changed my life. I'm a different person now, much happier and whole, than I was when I joined the morris, and through it I've found such joy. Not only in the freedom and challenge of dancing, but in the places I've been and people I met - not least of all my wife!

I'm loving this hobbies challenge. It's great seeing snapshots of people's passions - for me, being able to snap a little insight into this hugely important part of me and share it is such a "blip" thing - and great to share them.

I have so many strong feelings (and opinions!) about morris. It truly is a passion - hard work, but worth it, and still has me coming back for more and more. A few days ago, an advert for a tv programme featured reactions to morris dancing and there was the usual titter over our quirky nation dance. It's a great shame to me that morris isn't more celebrated, more seen for the joy, commitment, passion that people have for it. But it's okay, I can always do that bit for folk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.