fototherapy

By GirlKojak

One Last Leap

(Back-blipped on 29 September)

It suddenly struck me that that tiny pea, pretty and blue, was the Earth. I put up my thumb and shut one eye, and my thumb blotted out the planet Earth. I didn't feel like a giant. I felt very, very small.
(Neil Armstrong)


I'm sure that there were lots of amazing moon blips around this date. I took the death of Neil Armstrong as a challenge to get my first moon capture, and here are the results (bear in mind I cropped it a lot!). I'm quite pleased with it, especially as I took it with my rather poor bridge camera without the slightest clue what I was doing! I just kept changing settings until I got something vaguely recognisable.

I'm not a scientist and I find it quite difficult to grasp the fact that human beings have actually walked on another planet. Of course I know it is true, but it is so far beyond my sphere of understanding that it feels equivalent to stories of witches and wizards. I think that is why I chose the above quote of all possible ones from the man himself; it seems to acknowledge the strangeness and mystery of the universe, and our place in it.

Would you believe ... ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.