Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Chalking

I spent a couple of hours chalking the eight corners around Powell's Bookstore this afternoon. I wrote BLACK LIVES MATTER and the names of people murdered by police. I think quite a few people signed up to do the chalking today, and the goal was to blanket the whole downtown district with chalk on every corner, but I didn't see any other locations that had been chalked. Passers-by were generally supportive. Lots of thumbs up, a number of people took cell phone photos, and several people said thank you. One man suggested I look for "spray chalk" the next time I do this; he said they use it in construction and it's easier to work with than actual chalk. A fellow in a battered trenchcoat shouted, "Thanks for doing that. We forget." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.