Cailleach

By Cailleach

Sofa, so good...

Tonight, I'm baby sitting for Sadie and Logan.

Their lovely mummy assured me they were both completely knackered after a day's football and dancing, and would go to bed at about half seven, eight.

HAH!

We had an hour (felt like much, much longer) of football stickers, then some writing practice (who knew 5 yr olds got homework!), a very intense exploration of the word 'hate' (apparently Granny Greendoor has told them that you shouldn't 'hate' anything, but you're allowed to 'dislike' ), a drawing game with the most complicated rules ever (all of which somehow meant I never won), a frank discussion about Wayne Rooney's ears, a ballet story, a couple of chapters of Roald Dahl...and lots of hysterical laughter and cuddles.

At one point, Sadie told me there was a spider under the coffee table.

'Yeuch,' I said, 'I hate spiders.'

'No you don't,' she replied in a very disapproving fashion, 'you just dislike them intensely...'

As always, I come away a better person....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.