Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

The plantsman

Well we were going for a pub lunch (yes I know we had one yesterday). When we arrived at the pub I had in mind, which I had passed many times but never stopped at, it turned out that it was full of bikers out for a sunday ride and the car park was full.

So I had to reverse out of the car park, up quite a steep incline, onto the main road. This was made all the more challenging by the fact that my rental car, instead of having a mechanical hand-brake, had a switch. The instruments kept telling me that I had to be pressing the foot brake in order to switch off the hand brake. That meant I couldn't hold the car on the clutch.

So I had to press the footbrake, switch off the hand brake, then quickly move my foot from foot brake to the accelerator, without stalling the car or rolling forward and squashing a few bikers.

A few days later later somebody told me that you didn't have to release the hand-brake at all, just start accelerating and it releases itself. I'm not sure what was wrong with mechanical handbrakes that needed fixing.

Anyhow, safely out of the car park we decided to head for nearby Burford to look for somewhere that would serve lunch. We did indeed find somewhere and had an enjoyabe afternoon.

We passed this small nursery on the way from the town car park to the high street. It struck me as a quintissential sunday village scene.








Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.