Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Union of South Africa

An early start this morning to see 'Union of South Africa', a streamlined 'A4' class steam locomotive, passing north of Bedford. I took this from the same bridge as I took the shot of 'Flying Scotsman' last Saturday but as that was on the slow line and this was on the fast, I got a different angle. Having been waiting for a little while to get a clear line before it reached here it had obviously built up a head of pressure as the safety valve blew as it approached, making for a lot of noise and steam. There won't be many more chances to see this in steam as the owner plans to retire it next year and make it a static exhibit in his private museum on his farm in Scotland.

A dull morning so I had to brighten the shots up a little. Once again I couldn't decide between two so I've added the other as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.