Daffs Snaps

By Daff

I wondered lonely as a cloud . . . .

That floats o'er Weston Supermare
And all at once I saw a crowd
A host of golden Tupperware
In textures smooth and colours pale
Slightly shop soiled in the sale

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle over streets and parks
They stretched in never ending line
Along the shelves at Marks and Sparks

At least a thousand did I see
And all reduced to 50p.

Now oft when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood
I'm glad I had the sense to buy
These strong containers for my food
Glass may break - bags may tear
But you cannot damage Tupperware!


I uttered these words for the last time tonight during the last performance of our Farndale Show. I played the part of a finalist in the Townswomen's Guild Poetry competition and every night the audience voted me the winner and I received the laurel wreath and book. It's been great fun but very tiring. Just got in from the after show party so will catch up on comments tomorrow night.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.