creative lenna

By creativelenna

Tampa Museum of Art

I went on a Ringling Museum of Art Tour yesterday to visit the Skyway Exhibit: A collaboration between 3 local museums. "This exhibition is not only a celebration of artistic practice in the Tampa Bay area, but also an exercise in collaboration as it is shared between three institutions: the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, Sarasota; the Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg; and the Tampa Museum of Art."

The museums worked together to have this exhibit and the Ringling provided a day trip for members to see the art in all 3 exhibits. 
"The 57 artists represented in Skyway reflect the diversity of art being made in the Tampa Bay area. Each of the exhibited artists stood out to the curatorial team based on a variety of factors and criteria: strong, clear artist statements; unique uses of materials; engaging subject matter and conceptual vision; and highly developed aesthetic decisions."

I did enjoy! We went by bus from the Ringling in Sarasota to Tampa, then onto St Pete and then back to the Ringling. I've created a little 2 minute video slideshow if you would like to see some of the art I saw. I cannot say I was enamoured with ALL of the art, but some of it was so interesting. Plus, I had never been to the Tampa Museum of Art or The Museum of Fine Arts in St. Pete. Both are about an hour away, but by taking the bus tour I did not have to drive or park in the city! 

The Tampa Museum of Art was the most interesting architecturally and I had fun taking photos -we are looking down at the sign-in desk from the 2nd floor, in this blip. I had to go with black & white! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.