To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Enlightenment

Tonight was the second session of my photography class. I had no idea how exciting a histogram is! (I was so excited, I very nearly posted a photo of a histogram!) I knew the basics, but tonight the lecturer spent 3 hours discussing and demonstrating the nuances of the histogram and how it relates to exposure, the camera's reflective light meter, tonal values, and exposure value adjustments. I feel like the proverbial light bulb went on over my head. I had enrolled for this class because I'd wanted my hit-or-miss style of photography to be more 'hit' and less 'miss,' and I think I'm on my way.

As if that's not all, I reached another state of photographic nirvana today. I read up, bit my nails, crossed my fingers, took the plunge and cleaned my own (embarrassingly dusty) sensor. And it was so easy! And it worked! And I expect to save so much money and time by not having to take my camera to a technician! I'm no longer a slave to the stamp tool in PS! I feel like a new woman!!

Ok...I suppose my enthusiasm (and gratuitous use of exclamation points) is getting the best of me; it's 11:30 at night, and poor Mr. DH is probably wondering how to get me down off the ceiling.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.