Marbles

By Marbles

Red Sky Over the Humber

Red sky over the Humber at 6.37am.

I live about 14 miles from Hull (as the crow flies) along the M62 corridor. One day, about 5 years ago, my two sons asked me to go upstairs with them as they had something to show me. They took me into my bedroom and invited me to look through the telescope they'd rigged up. I was amazed - I could see the Humber Bridge, through that gap between the houses. It's 11 miles away! Obviously, it must have been a very clear day but I hadn't realised that the land between the village and the bridge was that flat.

The boys both then went out and it was only when they'd gone that I thought, "Hang on." They'd gone into MY bedroom, rummaged in MY wardrobe to find MY telescope, invited me into my own room to see this remarkable view, and then scarpered leaving me to tidy everything away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.