Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Artist portrait

a nature photog
showing his work - and I'm proud
he is family

Yannick is my cousin (my godfather's younger daughter's partner, my godfather being my mother's late younger brother) and lives near Grenoble, in a valley of the French Alps in the département called Isère.

He has taken to nature photography while my cousin and he were on a year trip to Australia and NZ. When they came back, he decided to pursue this hobby so that it became something more. This weekend, he's showing some of his work at a nature photography show near where I live. I paid him a visit and it was fantastic to see his work on a wall rather than as pixels on the internet. There were quite a few other interesting exhibitions: his "neighbour" was showing his work about the western US in black and white, reminiscent in places of Ansel Adams, and in others of Sebastiao Salgado. Striking. A couple showed their photos from Africa: gelada monkeys' portraits in Ethiopia and hyenas in Kenya. Powerful work.

You can see some of Yannick's work on his website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.