The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Country Comes To Town (Saturday 23 September 2017)

The Wiltshire Wildlife Trust held a fundraiser in Devizes on Saturday, and I went along in the afternoon. Among the various stalls and activities I found some Herdwick sheep and a Belted Galloway with its calf. The main interest for me, though, was the falconry display Walks With Hawks. There were a number of birds on display: a Harris Hawk, a gyr or lanner falcon and this magnificent Chilean Blue Eagle (which I believe is actually a buzzard). In the background behind it are a barn owl, a white-faced owl and a male European kestrel. I had stupidly brought the wrong lenses and lacked the telephoto I needed to capture some of the birds but luckily my blip subject was close enough to the railings (image heavily cropped though).
After I left I visited The Wharf and took a few wide-angle pictures and found it sunny enough to sit on a bench beside the canal and read for an hour or so.

L.
24.9.2017 (1210 hr)

Blip #2233 (#2483 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #015
Blips/Extras In 2017 #298
Day #2738 (523 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1468 (#1594 including 126 on archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-x (White) and HD P-DA 35mm F2.8 macro lens

Devizes series
Birds series
Birds Of Prey series
Falconry series

Country Comes To Town WWT, 23 September 2017 (Flickr album of 19 images)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Goldfrapp - Everything Is Never Enough (2017)

One Year Ago:
RSPB Arne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.