snailspace

By snailspace

Backblip 24th September: Um...

On Sunday the Visitor Centre was heaving with people, with many cars overflowing into the motorhome area. The weather was unbelievably hot and the UV index forecast had been for a whopping 11. We made sure to pack plenty of water and my sun hat before setting off on the 8.7 Km walk.

This walk promised an ascent of around 168 (IIRC) metres.  

Not wishing to tackle the steps down to the river again, we took the available "gently sloping" path instead. The riverside section was tough going, picking our way through rocks and tree roots and some very boggy sections. I was very happy to find, at about the halfway point, in the middle of nowhere, a cafe in an old mill. Coffee and Ice Cream really hit the spot.

The Cafe Nature was simply charming. There were picnic tables outside and garden games to play. A friendly donkey demanded our attention and there was a number of intriguing sculptures that included a giant arachnid hanging from a Catalpa tree but best of all, there was a loo! 

Happy me.

I took off to photograph the bear sculpture that I spotted but when I got there this was what I found. Not sure what it it is really but it was labelled "Auto Sculpture by ....."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.