Hurry along now...

Winchester Cathedral Close

After such a lovely warm September day, waking up to a day of grey skies and mizzly drizzle was bit of a shock. But the weather wasn’t a problem as I returned to the cathedral for the morning where I enjoyed a guided tour and a general mooch around, taking far too many photographs. (You may have picked up on the fact that I’m bit of a cathedral geek!)

Heading back out into the mizzle, I followed a city trail that took me along the River Itchen and the old city walls to the ruins of Wolvesey Castle, past Winchester College and the house where Jane Austen spent the last few weeks of her life, passing through the medieval Kingsgate and back to the Cathedral Close, where these little school boys were being hurried along in the rain, possibly future cathedral choir boys in the making!

To round off my visit to Winchester, and to dry off, a quick lunch in The Royal Oak, the oldest pub in England, before heading back to the station and the train (actually three trains!) home.

(Another backblip. Sorry not to have caught up with your journals yet, today hasn’t gone quite as planned! But you’re the next job on my list!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.