stuartjross

By stuartjross

Choo Choo

Clearly a lot of folk get excited by taking snaps of trains. I'm not in that club. I was working right next to the line and I could hear the whistle in the distance so I stood a minute with the camera till it came past.
I have gone highish ISO and quite large aperture to get a decent shutter speed. The Glenfinnan hills should form a decent back drop but that "clipped" burnt out sky spoils the image.

A few seconds after this I was talking to a gentleman from Japan. He had set up, his pride and joy; a pair of huge 8 by 10 plate cameras. If you want to take photos quickly you need two cameras.
In a world of digital point and shoot, in camera metering, autofocus, instant preview and review, batteries that last for a 1000 shots and you can discard 95% which are "duds" and still have a clutch of photos worth keeping this set up is for the purist photographer. He was understandably passionate about his hobby.

Extras, the gentleman and his kit, look at the quality and engineering.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.