Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Day Off and then...

The nursing hand of my friend's mum had her first day off since her arrival 
and you see her at the place I dropped her off, where we'd collected her a month ago from...

Then I couldn't believe that one would walk off not knowing where to, for a new job and this morning I left her with the promiss to pick her up from here again at the end of the afternoon.

I did, and then found her in tears and agony as she'd just received a phonecall on her handy from relatives in Bulgaria that some had died in a traffic accident.... The owner of the cafe where I found her affirmed me that she'd suddenly cried out loud since half an hour... since I called her to pick her up?! I have no idea.... was this real, was this theatre?!

Anyway I did not ask her if her grief was fake... just went along in her story of agonies and " What must I do?!"  and after an hour of consulting the one option and the other she accepted my offer to bring her to the port of Souda from where she could buy a ticket for the ferry that would leave this eve and then she'd manage to find a bus in Athens up to Sofia.

I have no idea if her story of berievement and wish to depart thus stick together or if this wish for departure was because she could not face another week or month with the care for my friend's mum. She's left some clothes here at the house... taking that loss as price for her freedom? Or expecting to be able to collect them one day and the job too?! That job may be gone to another in coming days...

All in all I think I witnessed a piece of Balkan drama / Greek drama no matter the bearing of truthworthiness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.