Portland Community College

Sue and I are starting a night-time Spanish course on October 1st, in preparation for our next Big Adventure. 

We went to one of the campuses to buy our books this afternoon after our therapy session, and we have a little time at her house before we go off to a Buddhist Peace Fellowship meeting this evening. Life is packed and rich in every way--surprising me, stretching me, demanding the best I have to offer. I didn't know I would be growing and learning so much, and so happy, at 72. Despite the state of the world and all the suffering in it, I am happier in my personal life than I've ever been in my whole life. I feel...well-used. Someone asked me on the phone today if I am an organ donor. I think they didn't realize my age. I laughed, "No, I don't think there will be anything left to use when I leave." After we hung up, I thought yes, that's right. People used to accuse me of burning the candle at both ends, and I would say, as a matter or course, "I plan to blaze out." I think that's what I'm doing, and I'm amazed it's continuing for as long as it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.