wrperry

By wrperry

One Less Chipmunk

I can't resist posting this photo, even if it is very dark and noisy, to document the occasion.  As happens periodically, I was walking by the kitchen window (fortunately, recently washed) and saw this hawk waiting for some action.  I grabbed my 600mm lens, rushed back into the room, and quickly got this shot.  His prey is just to the left of the frame - an unfortunate little chipmunk.  I believe this is a juvenile Cooper's Hawk, but I'm not sure.  The adults have red eyes, but I don't think it's a Sharp-shinned either because the tail is a bit rounded.  If anyone can properly identify this beautiful bird, I would appreciate the help.
Thank you for your comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's hummingbird!  Since she has stayed around so long, I hope she has a safe trip south.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.