Lincoln Cathedral

I had a meeting in Leicester, today, which I really wanted to get to and which turned out to be very worthwhile (fingers crossed) but, putting that to one side, it's a long way to come for 45 minutes.

Happily, Milly is just up the road at Lincoln, where she has started university, so I thought I'd make the most of the road trip and I spent the evening with her. 

The Minx had found a hotel called Charlotte House, right next to the castle, which was brilliant (and cheap) and Milly came and met me there. We had a walk up to the cathedral, which, even though I knew it was going to be big, was quite extraordinary. And after that we found a pub, had a couple of drinks, and then some wonderful tapas. 

There is a real joy to having grown up children - especially ones who insist on buying you a drink - and I had a splendid evening with Milly. I think it's a bit of a lottery starting at university and I'm glad to see she's so settled in and happy and enjoying her course and New Pals.

****
-11.6 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.