matipac

By matipac

Sadza

For the second time this week, as part of a school's generous hospitality, we were today each presented with a plate of food dominated by a very large helping of sadza, the most popular meal amongst native Zimbabweans. It's made out of finely ground maize. Bearing a striking resemblance to and with a taste and texture like a rubbery version of mashed potato, I find it just about edible - but only in small quantities.  Anyway, after a doggedly determined ten minutes, I had nearly made my way through the smaller section of the stuff and was wondering how best to dispose of the rest without upsetting our charming hosts! So you can imagine my relief when a Zimbabwean member of my team called it quits after only eating half of his. I was off the hook and very thankful! I've combined the sadza photo with another maize based product presented by the school earlier in the day. It's the sort of thing I would never usually contemplate drinking, but it was actually very tasty. The building behind the two chickens is where the sadza eating took place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.