Walking the Line 7

Straining Well

After doing various domestic chores this morning I realised I was still poorly and I went into steep decline as I approached domestic appliances like the hoover so I decided as the rain cleared to have a gentle walk and continue my completely arbitrary walking of the line of the Thirlmere Acquaduct which starts here. I went searching for a needle in a haystack which I didn't find so I've blipped the Straining Well which is where the water from the reservoir begins its journey over Dunmail Raise (the U-shaped valley on the left of the blip).

I then went to find the old gunpowder hut (extras). 
So often when I am up here I am reminded of Thoreau and Walden Pond...

'I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practice resignation, unless it was quite necessary.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.