#BanTheBurner

I follow The Lea Valley Growers on Twitter as we are members, even though we have retired from horticulture. The glasshouse industry in the Valley was at one time world-leading but then started to decline. It's having a bit of a renaissance at the moment.

The LVG Tweeted this morning about a march against plans to build a huge waste-burning facility in a built-up area of Hoddesdon. It's not that far from where I live, we all want to preserve the quality of the air we breathe. I decided to attend.

The first time I went to Hoddesdon was as a child in 1959 with my father and sisters. We travelled there repeatedly from our home in The Dengie Hundred to dismantle a block of glasshouses that he had bought. We loved having tea and snacks prepared on a Primus stove and working into the evening under Tilley lamps. MrQ bought the four inch pipes from this block for his (now our) nursery and remembers seeing our family there. How weird that we ended up together. :)

The sun shone today and at least a thousand people marched. In my image the marchers are approaching a dual-carriageway. The traffic was stopped on both sides to allow us all to pass. There was a cacophony of hooters. Who knows whether the drivers were showing support or frustration? :) 

Today's poem is For the Anniversary of My Death by WS Merwin. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/43118/for-the-anniversary-of-my-death

I'm getting a bit fed-up with all these poems about death. :( WSM is mourning his own death.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.