Eggs for tea

Spent all day in the chicken field, mucking out and general tidying up. We reorganised a secure large run for one of our hens and her baby so they can have more space before they can be returned to the outside world. I have now named mum, Goldie and her baby is Silver. I am not very imaginative or original with the animals' names. Can you guess their colours? The other mum is now called Sooty and her baby is Sweep.

I discovered a clutch of about 20 eggs in a nesting box that I did not think was being used. Fortunately they were not being sat on by a broody hen. The two babies that were hatched in August have created enough work and worry. Not knowing when these eggs were laid I broke them into a container for the chickens to eat. They all looked very fresh and the hens were happy with their treat.

My extra is Goldie and Silver exploring their new home. You can just about see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.