Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Cardiff Volunteer

Volunteering at the Cardiff Half Marathon again today.  Usually the weather is pretty good, but this year it was on and off drizzle.  That didn’t deter the runners, 20,000 of them a record for the event.  I was originally based in Bute Park but did manage to see the majority of runners start.

After a break and a warm cup of tea we were back out looking after the runners as they came back into the finish.  I had to deal with one emergency when a young woman was suffering from cramps quite badly and feeling sick.  Hope she was ok in the end.

I enjoy the day, it leaves you with a good feeling.  Volunteering really does help your mental health, what events could you volunteer for?

Next year I hope I can run again, as long as this nightmare can end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.