mef13

By mef13

Hampshire Fare

Wow. It’s October already. Just where have the months gone?
Mind you, it’s the first of the month and October does have an ‘R” in it, and that means two things in my book. Because it is the first Sunday, it is time for Romsey’s Farmers’ Market and this month should mean that shellfish is back on the counter of the fish stall with fresh catches from South Coast waters and the Solent.
For me that means the first time I have been able to buy winkles this year. Okay, in the early part of the year I did not have chance to get to the monthly market and sine then I have been waiting patiently for the shellfish season to return fully.
Winkles of course are not everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s something I always look out for. Today, the principal interest appeared to be on home-baked pork pies and the traditional burger stall selling buffalo burgers is as popular as ever. Anfd of course fresh vegetables are always in demand.
 
But dare I just sneak a peek at the fish stall from Portsmouth Fish Market. Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.