Instruments of His Peace

Today has been local election day in Mourão. We stayed till midnight last night on an outdoor terrace with the Padre and one of the candidates, chatting. So peaceful after all the campaigning... no campaigning allowed on the last day. I would have voted for her if I'd known we could have registered 60 days ago...

At midday, in the Eucharist up at the main church, we were presented to the 150+ folk there as the Bible study leaders for the next year. I was so nervous! More than when speaking to hundreds... why?? Partly, I guess, it feels like a big deal, as a Protestant, to be helping within the Catholic church. We divided 500 years ago over, presumably, important issues. But I feel like there's been enough division and finger-pointing and criticism and exclusion - for followers of a Man who prayed on the eve of his crucifixion for us: "May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me." (John 17:23).

The Padre is a brave man; may we, together, be instruments of his peace.

Went down to the jetty for the sunset - loved these two fishing - father and son - have already emailed the photo to Patricia, their wife/Mum. And now, walking out to see when election results are announced...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.