Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Chicago from the South Loop

This was not my intended blip today. My plans were to leave Chicago at 8 AM and drive to Indiana to visit my great nephew. Things were on schedule until I went to get the car from valet -- After 15 minutes, the guy came back and said I had a flat tire. So I called Ford roadside assistance and they said that all of their service centers were closed on Sunday but that they would be willing to tow my car to the nearest Ford dealer where repairs could be made "sometime on Monday". The valet guy was nice enough to change the tire with a small bastardized version called a "doughnut tire" - That kind of tire can only be driven on for about 50 miles and at a low speed - So I found a Firestone tire dealer that was open and they said that there were a number of customers already queued up and it would be a two hour wait. So I dropped the car off, and walked about two miles round trip to check out Soldier Stadium. This picture was taken on a bridge about 4 blocks from the stadium (part of the stadium can be seen on the right side of the picture).

By the time my car was ready, it was too late to visit my nephew. So I called and cancelled and then drove down to Lexington, KY where I am going to spend the night. Have not made specific plans for Monday but hope to go to the mountains and see some nice fall foliage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.