Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Great Scottish 10K Run

I did it. I achieved a goal set back in July 2016, to run and raise funds for a charity which is close to our hearts. Just short of £3,000, and hope to hit the target. Thankful.

What a great experience. It was wet and windy, however the support, roadside events, pumping music, and cheering crowds all helped. I beat my predicted time by nearly six minutes. The best bit was going over the Kingston Bridge, and all the cars tooting their horns to encourage us on.

Having never run since the dreaded Lenzie Ladies' Mile back in the 70s, I have slowly plodded, and speeded up over the last 15 months. Hours on paths, pavements, and in the gym. Painful knees, and feet, but I've done it, and feel better for it.

Feeling motivated, and plan to keep up the fitness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.